Back to All Events

2017 Irene Rosenzweig Biennial Juried Exhibition

The Arts & Science Center for Southeast Arkansas presents the 2017 Irene Rosenzweig Biennial Juried Exhibition. The Rosenzweig juried show has a long history with the Arts & Science Center, beginning with a gift from the Irene Rosenzweig Foundation in 1992. Irene Rosenzweig was born July 26, 1903 in Pine Bluff and graduated first in her class in 1920 from Pine Bluff High School. She received a Ph.D. from Bryn Mawr College in Pennsylvania and was awarded the Prix De Rome fellowship from the American Academy in Rome. Fluent in French, German, Spanish, Latin and Greek, she served as tutor to the Franklin D. Roosevelt family in the White House. Rosenzweig died in Pine Bluff in 1997.

The opening reception and awards ceremony will be held Thursday, September 21, 2017 from 5:00-7:00 p.m., with juror remarks at 5:30 p.m. Rosenzweig accepts entries in most media from Arkansas artists and artists from surrounding states. This year’s exhibition is juried by is Pine Bluff native MaryRoss Taylor. After studying art in Arkansas and at the Moore School in Philadelphia on weekends, she received degrees in English and founded an influential bookstore in Houston as well as the nonprofit Texas Arts & Cultural Organization (TACO), which brought The Dinner Party by Judy Chicago to Houston. Taylor currently serves on the Board of Advisors of the Brooklyn Museum and the National Museum of Women in the Arts, and on the Arkansas Committee of National Museum of Women in the Arts.

Artists selected for the exhibition include Arkansas artists Carmen Castorena (Bentonville), Andrew Estess (Pine Bluff), Christopher Hatley (Little Rock), Don House (Fayetteville), Rashawn Penister (Pine Bluff), Tom Richard (Monticello), Sandra Sell (Little Rock), Dominique Simmons (Little Rock), Byron Taylor (Little Rock), Henry Thomas (Sherwood), Elizabeth Weber (Little Rock), Steven Wise (Rogers), and Emily Moll Wood (Little Rock). Artists selected from surrounding states include Cody Benson, Peter C. Britton, Paula Campbell, Luena Y. Comas, Michael Elliott-Smith, Stephen Evans, Devin Howell, Gerard Hubar, Heather Ryan Kelley, Arthur McViccar, Susan R. Michael, Bill Price, Mike Ramsey, Kristen Tordella-Williams, and Liz Zanca.